950 East Parham Road
Richmond, VA 23228-6511
Phone: (804) 515-7800
Fax: (804) 515-7700
In the 1880s, Lewis Ginter, a wealthy businessman, opened a resort on this land just northwest of Richmond. An avid gardener, he planted and cared for much of the foliage that still thrives in the park today. Upon his death, the property passed to his niece who opened a hospice for children in Ginter's home. She also cultivated the gardens and imported several rare plants. The land is now operated by the city as a botanical garden. Explore the Victorian garden, nature trails and the home, and perhaps stop at the Tea House for lunch.
Three Lakes Nature Center & Aquarium is the best place to be on a sunny afternoon in Richmond. It is tranquil and beautiful, bringing together land and water for the delight of all visitors. Aside from the wonderful sightseeing, there are a plethora of activities for kids to engage in, such as educational programs focusing on fireflies, butterflies and two in particular that are a big hit: the Insectigator - where kids are able to hunt for certain insects - and the Dirt Lab, where budding archaeologists dig up hidden treasures. As if all of that isn't cool enough, there is a 50,000-gallon freshwater aquarium on site, which houses various fish and amphibians. With so many live exhibitions, it is no wonder that Three Lakes Nature Center & Aquarium is a big hit with children and adults alike.
The Bryan Park is a prime historic park in the northwest of the city. Spread over a large area, the park offers an array of hiking and biking tracks. Another promising feature is the Joseph Bryan Park Azalea Garden. It boasts of over 450,000 azalea plants of roughly 50 varieties, as well as a small pond with a fountain. The park also features a well-designed golf course. It also hosts cultural events and festivals throughout the year. Admission is free, and in this fast-paced world of gadgets, a visit can revive your mind and soul.
The Emek Sholom Holocaust Memorial Cemetery is a place of the Jewish faith people. This cemetery consists of the burials of the Jews who believe in that one should be emotionally connected to the Holocaust. Tothe Jews, their primary goal is to remember the people of Holocaust. The Jews also believe in educating people about the Holocaust education.
Come and visit the Hermitage Road Historical District and view the stunning properties with different architectural designs, like the Tudor, Victorian, Arts and Crafts, Georgian, Colonial Revival, etc. Along with the great high style architecture design homes, the district also features the A.P. Hill Monument, vast green spaces, public school, etc. One can also view the overhead trolley wiring which has been into existence for over 100 years and is still in use.
The Union Presbyterian Seminary is a historic theological seminary established in 1812. Located at the north side of Richmond, it is spreas over an area of 12 acres (5 hectares). The seminary building is constructed in the Late Victorian style of architecture and has vivid details. The seminary educates both men and women to provide service at the church. The seminary has another campus which is situated in Charlotte.
Children will love Meadow Farm. This living history site features animals to see and pet and special games and activities just for the small and curious. A restored 1860 farmhouse and its outbuildings are here to tour, giving visitors a comprehensive idea of what country life was like in the 1800s. Examples of special activities are needlework circles, a favorite social event for women of the era, and group games that children played during the period. Adults will enjoy the farmhouse too, as well as the 150 acres of park grounds that surround it. Admission is free.
Parker Field Annex is a good spot for taking a run at early morning and even for taking your dog for a walk. Neat and tidy, this park doesn't boast of any exceptional amenities but it is also a relaxing place where people can just sit and talk or take a solitary walk.
Apart from imparting the best of education to students, the Hanover High School also takes care of other extra curricular activities. There is a library media center available for research work and special events like 'In the Spotlight' are held for students' guidance. Various clubs and organizations like 'National Honor Society', 'Model United Nations' and 'Key Club' of the school take care of the students' overall development. The Hanover Hawks Athletics have made the school proud by winning many matches on their home field.
The Thomas Jefferson High School is located at Richmond, Virginia. The school building was constructed in the year 1929 C.E and it has a Art Deco style of architecture. It was designed by architect Charles M. Robinson and it got listed on the National Registrar of Historic Places on December 23, 1993.
James River Distillery is situated close to James River and specializes in gin. It boasts of state-of-the-art Vendome stills and a unique method of preparing its signature Commonwealth Gin. It sources organic ingredients from Virginia and the rest of the Mid-Atlantic region and uses a unique triple distillation technique. The owners are involved in each process, right from milling and distilling to the final packaging. A vapor infusion process, which allows alcohol vapors to pass through a mixture of 10 botanical extracts, imparts unique aromas and flavors to the gin, especially those of juniper, green spice, citrus and pepper. This distillery also produces seasonal gins and gives tips for concocting cocktails from their signature liquor.
The First African Baptist Church was founded in 1841 in Richmond, Virginia. It boasts of a great history and there was a point in time when it was one of the largest Protestant churches in the country. The structure follows the rare Greek Doric style of architecture. It organizes varied events like the Homecoming Fall Revival and Share Fair Fellowship to list a few. The church office hours are 10:00a to 4:00p from Monday to Friday. With tremendous historic significance, it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on April 16, 1969.