115 Holiday Dr.
Summerville, SC 29483
Phone: (843) 851-9595
Fax: (843) 832-1824
Located on the Ashley River 15 miles from Charleston, this location has historic significance known as Fort Dorchester, an American fortification during colonial days and the Revolutionary War. Ruins of the 1751 St. George Parish bell tower, cemetery and burial grounds, and remaining walls add considerable interest to early settlement days. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, events such as Garrison Days, where reenactments of the French and Indian War take place, are held annually. Visitors can observe archaeology in progress at the Saturday Process of Discovery programs. The park is open until 6p daily during Daylight Savings Time. There is an increase to the admission fee for special events. -Natasha Lawrence
Spanning over 1,015 acres (410.76 hectares) of nature that includes wetlands and woodlands, North Charleston Wannamaker County Park is one of the largest of its kind in the city. Offering a vast range of activities such as boating, bicycling, picnicking, fishing, volleyball, skating and walking along with kids playgrounds, restrooms and a dog park, this parkland is very popular among families and large groups. Explore the freshwater lagoon in a rented pedal boat or kayak. If you are the adventure type, then head to the Wannamaker North Trail for mountain bikers where you can test your skill. Visit this beautiful park for a great fun day with your family and friends.
Fort Dorchester High School is a public school located in North Charleston. The institution is most popular in the city for its International Baccalaureate and Advanced Placement programs. Along with the regular school academics, Fort Dorchester also involves its students/staff in several of its clubs for athletic, academic and co-curricular meetings. Several sports events, especially wrestling, are held in the school auditorium. The school also has its own band that presents live musical events.
Get the family together and spend some time playing the 18-hole "tropical" miniature golf course, riding go-karts and tooling around on the bumper boats. The park also offers a large arcade, batting cage and rock climbing wall. For the really adventurous, there's the "Trampoline Thing." Golf fans are happy to send their kids off with a handful of tokens and practice their swing at the Golf Range. The Pizza Shop on site lets you spend the whole day playing. Party packages are available.
Middleton Place is an 18th Century rice plantation and National Historic Landmark comprising 65 acres (26 hectares) of America’s oldest landscaped Gardens, the Middleton Place House Museum and the Plantation Stableyards. The Gardens reflect the elegant symmetry of 17th Century European design. Sculpted terraces, parterres and reflecting pools full of swans are highlights of their intricate design. Rare camellias bloom in the winter, while vibrant azaleas blanket the hillside above the Rice Mill Pond in the spring. Tickets for house tours are separate from the general admission fee.
Drayton Hall is a National Trust Historic site resting on 630 lovely acres (254 hectares). The building was completed in 1742, and today it stands as a quality example of Georgian-Palladian architecture; in fact it is the oldest surviving example of this architectural style. Owned by the Drayton family for seven generations, the house remains near to its original condition, though it has been through the Revolutionary War and several hurricanes and earthquakes. This is a true piece of history, so come explore the house and enjoy the pastoral grounds. Drayton Hall regularly hosts school field trips and other educational opportunities.
A Trappist monastery located along the Cooper River in Berkeley Country northwest of Charleston, the property has a long history going back to 1681. This was the site of the historic Mepkin Plantation built by Henry Laurens in the 1760s. Publisher Henry Luce bought the property in 1936, then he and his wife, Claire, donated much of the land to Roman Catholic monks who established the Trappist Order here in 1949. Guided tours of the church, gardens and trails are offered daily. Extended stays with meals included are available as a spiritual retreat. There is a gift shop that sells home-grown white oyster mushrooms, locally made jams and honey along with artwork, books and crafts. Admission is free. -Natasha Lawrence
The Taveau Church was incorporated in the National Registrar of Historic Places in 1978. This historical church dates back to 1835 and also has a cemetery.
The Santee Canal is a significant canal site in the United States. It stands as one of the earliest built canal sites in the entire U.S. The construction of the historic canal was done from 1793 through 1800. It occupies an area cover of 50 acres (20 hectares) and was built by celebrated architect Colonel John Christian Senf. The Congaree River and Columbia city are connected due to the Santee river. The canal is also famously listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Strict followers of the teachings of Jesus Christ, Church Creek Presbyterian preaches worship to the community. There are various events like choir performances, Sunday classes for children and spiritual workshops that are held in the church. It also runs various ministries like the ministry of Christian education, ministry of mercy and conducts many social programs throughout the world for the underprivileged.
Located on the former Charleston Naval Base in memory of the thousands of military and civilian personnel who served when the base was open and active, this beautiful park on the west side of the Cooper River is well worth a trip off the beaten tourist path. Steel plate photographs of the Navy Yard from 1901 to 1996 are exhibited against a wall that resembles one side of an aircraft carrier. There are plaques, statues of the Lone Sailor and the Homecoming as well as models of the different ships that were built here (256) or called North Charleston home. Visitors can walk the boardwalk along the river, see the modern art exhibits around the park or let their children play on the playground nearby. Admission is free. Free parking is in a nearby lot. Many festivals and community celebrations are held here. - Natasha Lawrence
Biggin Church Ruins are the remains of the ancient parish church of St. John’s Parish in South Carolina. The church was built and established in 1706 and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on December 13, 1977. The church was originally done in English bond and was a rectangular brick building. The building succumbed to burns three times and each time it was repaired to be used for religious purposes.