14080 Shoppers Best Way
Woodbridge, VA 22192
Phone: (703) 580-9200
Fax: (703) 670-0870
Arts & Museums
Once used as a miller's office, this house museum is all that remains from the office and mill that was the first automated grist mill in the nation which was originally built in 1759 and operated until 1924. Occoquan's charming history is presented through exhibits, presentations, artifacts, and memorabilia at this museum.
The Weems-Botts Museum stands as an elegant museum site in the Dumfries vicinity of the U.S. State of Virginia. This enthralling museum finely depicts the history of Dumfries family and the site has been registered on the National Register of Historic Places.
Take an exciting journey through history while at this 7,000 square foot museum that contains a large collection of permanent and temporary historical exhibits which interpret Northern Virginia Piedmont history through artifacts, documents, and images. The McBryde Library and Archives, which is open to researchers by appointment, is also on site, as well as a museum store.
Over 100 years of antique fire fighting equipment used in the early 20th century is on display at this museum where visitors can also talk with volunteer fire fighters at the station to learn more about the history of fire fighting.
Visitors to this museum enjoy a spectacular array of memorabilia, photography, artifacts, and interactive displays about United States military wars and conflicts in the 20th century. The museum also features an outdoor collection of military vehicles.
Originally part of George Washington's River Farm, this property is now a unique library on Americana complete with an extensive collection of books on American heritage and a genealogy section on loan from the Mayflower Society of Washington. The library offer picturesque views of the Potomac River and also houses a Sioux chief's headdress, a tribute to Uncle Sam, and replicas of the Constitution and the Magna Carta.
This National Rifle Association's museum houses one of the most extensive firearms collections in the country with more than 2,000 historic firearms displayed in 13 permanent galleries. Exhibits span the history of handheld firearms from the mid-14th century to the latest in sporting rifles, shotguns, and pistols.
Formerly the Franklin and Armfield Office, the Freedom House was one of busiest slave trading center. Later is was used as a prison and a hospital; this building also featured in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.
Children and other fans of firefighters and their equipment will enjoy visiting Alexandria's oldest firehouse, built in 1871. The Friendship Fire Company itself pre-dates the building by 100 years and is rumored to have been a pet project of George Washington's. Restored in the 1990s, the Firehouse offers visitors a look at the equipment used since the nation's founding. Also displayed are the clothes firefighters wore throughout this company's history. Special exhibits are often held.
This Greek-Revival building was built in 1839 as the intellectual and cultural center for the city of Alexandria. The first floor held a library, with the second floor containing a lecture hall. The Civil War brought these activities to an end and the building became a hospital. It then served as a home and an office building and was saved from demolition by the city in 1974, soon becoming Alexandria's History Museum. The history and culture of this city and surrounding area provide the focus for a permanent display of memorabilia, changing exhibits and special events.
The Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary was a family-run business established in 1792 and was responsible for the manufacture and retail of prescription drugs. Shut down during The Great Depression, the museum was donated to the city in 2006 and provides an insight into the ancient days of the practice. Off the shelves are an ingenious assortment of pharmaceuticals, medicine bottles, herbal botanicals and medical instruments, most of which are preserved in their original location. Browse through the rare collection of documents like medical journals, prescriptions, letters and archives that offers a glimpse into pharmacy back when science was in its nascent stage. It boasts a historically high-profile clientele including Martha Washington and Robert E. Lee.
Built on land that was originally owned by Lord Fairfax and surveyed by George Washington, the Athenaeum is home to the Northern Virginia Fine Arts Association (NVFAA). The Athenaeum is on both the Virginia Trust and National Register of Historic Places. The Gallery is open on Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. and Saturdays 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.